Stay up-to-date with what’s happening around our organisation, and drop us a line if you want to contribute!

For all media enquiries please contact

Media Releases | St John Ambulance
Winners announced in St John NT Excellence Awards
  29 Nov 2023

Those who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to assist Territorians in their moment of need and a member of the public who saved the life of a loved one are among the recipients of this year’s St John NT Excellence Awards.

The St John NT Excellence Awards celebrate and recognise staff and volunteers who demonstrate excellence in leadership or clinical practice, an outstanding level of care, professionalism and compassion for members of the Northern Territory community.

St John NT CEO Andrew Tombs said that all award recipients including paramedics, Emergency Medical Dispatchers, Patient Transport Officers, volunteers and support staff from across the organisation embody these qualities and more.

“Your unwavering commitment, passion and dedication has not gone unnoticed, and are qualities to be admired,” Mr Tombs said.

“The Awards presented a fantastic opportunity to say thank you and celebrate those, who each day work within the community to provide life-saving medical assistance, vital first aid training, support services or volunteer to serve their community,” he said.

Among those receiving an award was Bronwyn Gray who was awarded a Save a Life Award - recognising the brave actions of a person who contributes to saving a life through the application of first aid skills.

Saving the life of her husband was not something Bronwyn expected when arriving home from work early one morning in September, but her quick thinking to call Triple Zero (000) and follow instructions to commence CPR brought her loved one vital time before paramedics arrived.

Bronwyn continued CPR for a significant amount of time, keeping her husband’s heart pumping only stopping CPR to open the locked gate for the paramedics when they arrived.

Bronwyn's quick thinking to send for help and apply first aid is truly inspiring and the reason her husband is alive today.

Mr Tombs said award recipients were recognised as role models within their profession and the community, clearly displaying St John NT’s values of respect, integrity, collaboration and empathy.

“Thank you to everyone who was nominated, announced as finalists and those who received awards for the contribution they have made to St John NT. We are fortunate to have you as representatives of our organisation.”

The winners are:

Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise Paramedic of the Year 2023

 Kelsey Squire (Alice Springs)

Paramedic of the Year - Southern

James Rowland (Alice Springs)

Paramedic of the Year - Northern

Kasey Houghton (Darwin)

Patient Transport Officer of the Year

 Joshua Clarke (Alice Springs)

Emergency Medical Dispatcher of the Year

 Patricia Searcy (Darwin)

Intern of the Year

 Kate Thornton (Alice Springs)

Excellence in Corporate Services

 Natalie Cecchin (Darwin)

Excellence in First Aid Training

 Jaz Cross (Darwin)

Excellence in Commercial Operations

 Rory O'Connor (Darwin)

Adult Volunteer of the Year

 Glen Auricht (Alice Springs Division)

Junior Volunteer of the Year (8 - 11 yrs)

 Lilly Ferguson (Darwin Youth Division)

Youth Volunteer of the Year

Anais Henry-Martin (Darwin Youth Division)

Operational Support Volunteer of the Year

Kalliopi Trikillis (Casuarina Adult Division)

Peter Falkland Youth Leader 2023

Maddison Carrier (Humpty Doo Combined Division)

Youth Division of the Year

Katherine Youth Division

Adult Division of the Year

Casuarina Adult Division

Save a Life Award

Bronywn Gray

The St John NT Excellence Awards would not be able to go ahead without the generous support of sponsors including the Northern Territory Government, Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise, Charles Darwin University, Australasian College of Paramedicine, AANT, Area9, The Pharmacy Guild of Australia, Palmerston Regional Business Association, ZOLL Medical Corporation, Ferno and Ironbark Aboriginal Corporation.

More information on award finalists here

Copyright © All rights reserved  |  St John Ambulance Australia (NT) Inc.