Stay up-to-date with what’s happening around our organisation, and drop us a line if you want to contribute!

For all media enquiries please contact

Media Releases | St John Ambulance
Media Release: St John NT Excellence Awards 2022 open for nominations
  01 Sep 2022

Media Release: St John NT Excellence Awards 2022 open for nominations

Thursday, 1 September 2022

St John NT is calling on the Northern Territory community to nominate paramedics, volunteers and members of their staff who have gone above and beyond the call of duty.

The St John NT Excellence Awards celebrate and recognise staff and volunteers who demonstrate excellence in leadership or clinical practice, an outstanding level of care, professionalism and compassion for members of the Northern Territory community.

Nominations are now open until Friday, 7 October 2022.

This year marks the 23rd year of the Awards. The Awards were originally established in 1999 as the Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise Ambulance Officer of the Year Awards. From there they evolved into the Paramedic of the Year Award and then the St John NT Excellence Awards incorporating awards for staff and volunteers across the organisation as well.

St John NT CEO Judith Barker said she looked forward to the Awards each year as a way to celebrate the organisation’s valuable contribution to the Northern Territory.

Our staff and volunteers are often with people when they are at their most vulnerable, being able to publicly acknowledge their leadership and compassion is just a small part in saying thank you,” she said.

“Whether it be our response to a Triple Zero (000) call, paramedics at the scene of an accident, volunteers at major events, or first aid training, our team is committed to caring for Territorians and being there when we’re needed most.”

“I would also like to acknowledge our generous supporters who have enabled us to develop the Awards into something we can share with the community as we tell and celebrate the recipients’ amazing stories.”

Members of the public can nominate a St John NT staff member or volunteer online until Friday, 7 October. Award recipients will be announced at an awards ceremony at Parliament House in November.

Categories include St John NT paramedics, Emergency Medical Dispatchers, Patient Transport Officers, corporate services staff and junior and adult volunteers.

The 2022 Awards are kindly supported by the Northern Territory Government, Rotary Club of Darwin Sunrise, Australasian College of Paramedicine, Charles Darwin University, AANT, Area9, The Pharmacy Guild of Australia and Colemans Printing.

For more information and to nominate a St John NT staff member or volunteer go to:

Copyright © All rights reserved  |  St John Ambulance Australia (NT) Inc.